This video recording is only one possible staging of the performance, which was recorded during only one show.

OLAF NICOLAI
Rewind-Forward

1437 Plays
Share

Record date: 23.04.2016

Venue: TQW / Studios

In the frame of: SCORES N°11 / / Atelier EDN - European Dancehouse Network: ARCHIVES TO COME

Info

 

Olaf Nicolai questions the archive on its (own) capacity to produce, as a means of production. Via his work Szondi/Eden he shows, that documents and materials of an archive are not to be understood as static; rather as subjects they oscillate between their ascribed reference status and their potential to relocate themselves within communications, when their sources are understood as versatile.

 

 

 

Credits

 

Olaf Nicolai currently lives and works in Berlin and completed a PHD in comparative literature and linguistics at the Karl-Marx-University, Leipzig on the theme of ‘The Vienna Group. Gesture Between Calculation and Expression’ (1992). He has exhibited in an international context since the early 1990s and in 1997 was invited to take part in documenta X. He develops diverse interdisciplinary projects which thematise the fundamental experiences of space, time and physicality. His latest works include, among others, ‘Speculation About Two Unidentified Objects’, Fondation Lafayette (2014), ‘Le pigment de la lumière’, designs for the interiors of the new Gropius and Moholy-Nagy Masters’ Houses, Bauhaus Dessau (2014) and ‘Escalier du Chant’, Musée du Louvre, Paris (2013). In 2015 he was invited to contribute to the German Pavilion at the Biennale di Venezia with his project ‘GIRO’. Since 2011 he is Professor of Sculpture and Fundamentals of Three-Dimensional Design at the Academy of Fine Arts, Munich.

 

His works have received awards from, among others, the Art Prize of the City of Wolfsburg (2002), the Villa Aurora Grant in Los Angeles (2008), IASPIS (Stockholm, 2000), PS1 (New York, 1998), Villa Massimo (1997/98) and the German Academic Scholarship Foundation at the Study Centre for Art and Science in Venice (1993).

 

Artistic works and projects have been shown in numerous international solo presentations including, among others: GIRO, German Pavilion, 56th Venice Biennale (2015), Le pigment de la lumière, Masters’ Houses Gropius and Moholy-Nagy, Bauhaus Dessau (permanent since 2014), Fondation Lafayette, Paris (2014), Musée de Louvre, Paris (2013), Museum Angewandte Kunst, Frankfurt/ Main (2013), Kunsthalle Münster (solo exhibition, 2012), Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich (2011), Museum Boijmans van Beuningen, Rotterdam (2008), Haus Konstruktiv, Zürich (2008), Kunstverein Hamburg (2007), Kunstraum Dornbirn (2006), Kunstmuseum Thun (2004), Casino Luxembourg (2003), Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zürich (2001), Watari-Um Museum, Tokyo (1998). Group and institutional exhibitions in which he has taken part include, among others: Berlin Biennale 8 (2014), ‘Zeichen und Wunder’, Museum für angewandte Kunst, Vienna (2013), Busan Biennale (2012), Hayward Gallery, London (2012), Neues Museum, Nuremberg (2012), Biennale Curitiba (2011), the 3rd Thessaloniki Biennale of Contemporary Art (2011), Kunsthalle Fridericianum (2011), Kunsthalle Hamburg (2011), Royal Academy, London (2008), Athens Biennal (2007), the 51st Venice Biennial (2005), the 4th Gwangju Biennale (2002), Biennale Sydney (2002), the 49th Venice Biennale (2001), ‘etre nature’, Fondation Cartier (Paris, 1998) and documenta X (Kassel, 1997).

 

 

 

Supported by


Logo Wien Kultur

Diese Videoaufzeichnung stellt nur eine Möglichkeit der Inszenierung dar, da sie während nur einer Aufführung aufgenommen wurde und könnte an einem anderen Tag möglicherweise unterschiedlich wirken.

OLAF NICOLAI
Rewind-Forward

292 Mal gesehen
Teilen

Datum der Aufzeichnung: 23.04.2016

Ort: TQW / Studios

Im Rahmen von: SCORES N°11 / / Atelier EDN - European Dancehouse Network: ARCHIVES TO COME

Info

 

Olaf Nicolai befragt das Archiv auf seine (eigene) Kapazität des Produzierens, als Produktionsmittel. Anhand seiner Arbeit Szondi/Eden zeigt er, dass dabei die Dokumente und Materialien des Archivs nicht als etwas Statisches zu begreifen sind; vielmehr oszillieren sie subjekthaft zwischen ihrem Status zugeschriebener Referenz und ihrem Potential sich in Kommunikationsprozessen selbst neu zu verorten, wenn wir ihre Quellen beweglich begreifen.

 

 

 

Credits

 

Olaf Nicolai promovierte in Vergleichender Literatur- und Sprachwissenschaft an der Karl-Marx-Universität Leipzig zum Thema „Die Wiener Gruppe. Geste zwischen Kalkül und Expression“ (1992), lebt und arbeitet zur Zeit in Berlin. Seit Anfang der 1990er Jahre ist er im internationalen Ausstellungs-Kontext präsent und wurde 1997 auf die documenta X eingeladen. Er entwickelt vielfältige interdisziplinäre Projekte, die die elementaren Erfahrungen von Raum, Zeit und Körperlichkeit thematisieren. Zu seinen jüngsten Arbeiten zählen unter anderen „Speculation About Two Unidentified Objects“, Fondation Lafayette (2014), „Le pigment de la lumière“, Innengestaltung für die neuen Meisterhäuser Gropius und Moholy-Nagy, Bauhaus Dessau (2014), „Escalier du Chant“, Musée du Louvre, Paris (2013). 2015 war sein Projekt „GIRO“ als Beitrag des Deutschen Pavillion zur Biennale di Venezia eingeladen. Seit 2011 ist er als Professor für Bildhauerei und Grundlagen des dreidimensionalen Gestaltens an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste, München tätig.

 

Seine Arbeiten wurden u.a. mit dem Kunstpreis der Stadt Wolfsburg (2002) sowie Stipendien der Villa Aurora in Los Angeles (2008), bei IASPIS (Stockholm, 2000), am PS1 (New York, 1998), in der Villa Massimo (1997/98) oder dem Stipendium der Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes am Studienzentrum für Kunst und Wissenschaft in Venedig (1993), ausgezeichnet. 

 

 

Künstlerische Arbeiten und Projekte wurden in zahlreichen internationalen Einzelpräsentationen gezeigt, u.a.: GIRO, Deutscher Pavillion 56. Biennale von Venedig (2015), Le pigment de la lumière, Meisterhäuser Gropius and Moholy-Nagy, Bauhaus Dessau (permanent seit 2014), Fondation Lafayette, Paris (2014), Musée de Louvre, Paris (2013), Museum Angewandte Kunst, Frankfurt/ Main (2013), Kunsthalle Münster (Einzelausstellung, 2012), Pinakothek der Moderne, München (2011), Museum Boijmans van Beuningen, Rotterdam (2008), Haus Konstruktiv, Zürich (2008), Kunstverein Hamburg (2007), Kunstraum Dornbirn (2006), Kunstmuseum Thun (2004), Casino Luxembourg (2003), Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zürich (2001), Watari-Um Museum, Tokyo (1998). Gruppenausstellungen und Ausstellungen Institutionen, an denen er beteiligt war, sind u.a.: Berlin Biennale 8 (2014), „Zeichen und Wunder“, Museum für angewandte Kunst, Wien (2013), Busan Biennale (2012), Hayward Gallery, London (2012), Neues Museum, Nürnberg (2012), Biennale Curitiba (2011), 3. Thessaloniki Biennale of Contemporary Art (2011), Kunsthalle Fridericianum (2011), Kunsthalle Hamburg (2011), Royal Academy, London (2008), Athens Biennal (2007), 51. Biennale von Venedig (2005), 4. Gwangju Biennale (2002), Biennale Sydney (2002), 49. Biennale von Venedig (2001), „etre nature“, Fondation Cartier (Paris, 1998), oder die documenta X (Kassel, 1997).

 

 

Gefördert durch


Logo Wien Kultur